Tried and True Chocolate Chip Cookies

DSC_5138 2

Last of the recipes for my bake sale: chocolate chip cookies.

I want to apologize for how long it’s taken me to get all of these bake sale posts on.  The day I made these cookies and the Glazed Clementine Buttermilk Scones, I had just enough time to get everything done and the kitchen halfway decent before I had to rush off to youth group.  I also want to do a shout out to my mom who always supports me in my baking and often helps clean up my mess when I don’t plan my time well enough to do it myself before an event.  I love you , momma ❤

Isn’t this spring weather fantabulous?! (yes, that is a word)

I’m loving every second of it – especially since I just finished school. (Hallelujah, hallelujah, halle-eh-lu-yah!)

Also, since it’s spring, our bush in our backyard is bursting with beautiful white flowers.  Their short lives begged me to pick them and enjoy them as long as possible, so . . .

DSC_5434

. . . aren’t they gorgeous?

All right, back to cookies.

Abby found this recipe from good old Betty Crocker a long time ago and we’ve only strayed from it once or twice to experiment with other recipes.  However, this is the one we always come back to and use consistently.  We whip them up for my chocolate-loving great aunt and uncle and I used the same recipe to make 6 batches of these cookies for Abby’s grad party a couple years ago.

Classy Chocolate Chip Cookies was a title that came to mind when naming these, but they’ve been so faithful in turning out every time that Tried and True seemed more appropriate.

A fun little addition to the original recipe I tweaked was adding the chilling process.  It’s not necessary, but it definitely is the difference between a flat (but good) cookie to the plump, thick ‘n’ chewy cookie in the featured picture.  Chilling and making each little dough ball into a mini tower instead of just balls are two steps that make a big difference in the outcome.

For a visual, the mini dough ball towers should look something like this:

THE Cake Batter Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe on sallysbakingaddiction.com One of the most popular recipes!

Again, don’t feel that these steps are necessary, but they do make a yummy difference 🙂

DSC_5137 2

Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 cup margarine or butter, softened

¾ cup granulated sugar

¾ cup packed brown sugar

1 egg

2 ¼ cups all purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

½ teaspoon salt

1 package (12 ounces) semisweet chocolate chips

1 cup coarsely chopped nuts (optional)

  • Heat oven to 375˚
  • Mix butter, sugars, and egg. Stir in flour, baking soda(mix baking soda in with the flour a bit before mixing all together), and salt (dough will be stiff). Stir in nuts if desired and chocolate chips.  Cover and chill for 2 hours or up to 3 days.
  • Drop dough by rounded teaspoonfuls about 2 inches apart onto ungreased cookie sheet.  Mold into tall balls. Bake until light brown, 8 to 10 minutes. (Centers will be soft.) Cool slightly; remove from cookie sheet.
Leave a Reply

