Anticipations for Fall

DSC_5229 2 2

I was looking through one of my notebooks last night in search of one of my randomly placed journal entries.  I remembered that it was about being excited for fall, and I feel like I need to remember some of that excitement as I look towards my senior year. God has been preparing my heart for this school year, though, and I don’t feel as anxious about my future as I was when choosing my PSEO classes.  Still, it was fun and encouraging to read about my attitude 2 years ago, when facing my sophomore year:

9-1-13

“It is the absolute perfection of a day, according to my own judgement of the weather.  It has been cloudy all day with the temperature wavering at 70° as a high and dropping below that as the day wore on.  There is a hint of the promise of autumn in the air, just enough to make me yearn for cozy sweaters, campfires, and mugs of hot apple cider.”

9-2-13

“The summer is drawing to a close, but I have no regrets.  It is not every summer I am able to say that.

The drought has brought a pre-chill into the air, forewarning an early fall if no rain comes soon.  To me, the new coolness to the air is only a source of excitement and anticipation.  It will get warmer in the next few days and feel like summer again for a while, but I love the feeling of hope that the weather brings.  I try in vain to bring up past feelings in the spring of cabin fever and the drudgery that I know schoolwork could very well become, but my mind is bound and determined to see this new season of my life in with determination, hope, and excitement, knowing that as long as I stick close to God, everything is an adventure.  I know that Mr. Freeman (a friend’s dad) is right, that at the end of our lives or at the time of the rapture, the only regret we’ll have is that we could’ve done more for Jesus.  I don’t want to have that regret.  I want, at the end of my life, to stand before God with hands wide open and say, ‘I gave you everything and held nothing back.'”

Like Paul said in 2 Timothy 4:18:

“I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.  Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award me on that day – and not only me, but also to all who have longed for his appearing.”

Here is my prayer for you today,

I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.

Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever!  Amen.

                                                                                    Ephesians 3:16-21

At youth group this week, there was a guy who talked about these exact verses.  He was formerly a discussion group leader and mentioned how prayer time consisted of prayer requests such as, “I have this hang nail . . . ” or “My aunt’s dog has arthritis and if you could just lift them up in prayer, that would be great.”

His point was that we pray for comfort from trials in our lives, but if we pray that God strengthens us through his Spirit and establishes us in love, then we will be able to face those trials with the strength that God provides.

Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance.  Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.

   James 1:2-3

No one goes through troubles in life without coming out from them changed.  If we keep our eyes on Jesus through the troubles, we will come out from them closer and stronger in our relationship with Him.  That’s  the only explanation why we can face trials with joy 🙂

No matter what this fall brings, keep your eyes “above the sun” on Jesus, and He will carry you through.

Leave a Reply

