White Sheet Cake

White Sheet Cake

Happy Thanksgiving!

I hope you had a fantastic Thanksgiving full of love, family, and lots of turkey and apple pie :).  As can be seen by the majority of my posts, one of my top things to be thankful for is that God created the art and science of baking.  Yum.

(Side note:  if you love to bake or just like listening to British accents, watch The Great British Baking Show.  It’s my favorite, and I’m super sad that I just finished the episodes available on Netflix.  However, I’m hoping that the season that just finished airing will be available soon 🙂 .  If you don’t have Netflix, they have more recent episodes streaming on PBS)

When I was planning desserts with my mom for our first-ever hosting for Thanksgiving, we figured that we would need a good variety in case some people didn’t like some of the desserts.  Knowing that I had school off for the week, I was SO incredibly and ridiculously excited to have so many desserts to make this week.  Let me list them for you: my Melt-In-Your-Mouth Pumpkin Cookies, Chocolate Peanut Butter Layer Cake, and today’s White Sheet Cake.  And since I didn’t have quite enough time, Abby made our Best Frosted Brownies Ever.

(Side note: Abby showed me how to hyperlink, so I went and redid all my previous posts – it’s so much fun!)

I’ve been noticing that some of my posts have been made in an excited baking frenzy, wanting everyone to see my newest projects instead of calmly posting the recipes that are tried and true.  Thus said, I’ve made this cake at least ten times, and it will be made plenty of times in the future.  My dad and brother absolutely adore it, and the rest of my family also love it.  The richness found in the vanilla flavor and moistness is so much richer than any old white sheet cake recipe, probably due to the sour cream in the batter and the amazing frosting.  I once entered in the county fair as “white sheet cake”, but the judges criticized it by countering with “is not white cake.”  I agree.  This cake is not your average white cake, but it’s well worth making if you like white cake.

First, preheat oven to 375 degrees. Melt butter and water in a large saucepan over medium-low heat until butter is melted.

DSC_1352 2

Remove from heat and stir in the sugar, flour, salt and baking soda.

DSC_1353 2

Stir with a wire whisk until smooth. Add eggs and vanilla. Stir in the sour cream and mix until blended.

DSC_1357 2Pour the batter into a well greased 11”x17” sheet pan. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until the cake springs back when lightly touched or a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Remove cake from oven and allow to cool slightly while you make the frosting.  If you frost the cake while it’s still the slightest bit warm, the frosting sinks into the cake a bit and makes it more moist.

White Sheet Cake

1 c. butter
1 c. water
2 c. sugar
2 1/4 c. all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking soda
2 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
1/2 c. sour cream

Frosting:
1 c. butter
6 Tbl. evaporated milk
4 1/2 c. powdered sugar
1 tsp. vanilla
1/8 tsp. salt
1 c. chopped pecans, opt.

  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Melt butter and water in a large saucepan over medium-low heat until butter is melted. Remove from heat and stir in the sugar, flour, salt and baking soda. Stir with a wire whisk until smooth. Add eggs and vanilla. Stir in the sour cream and mix until blended.
  • Pour the batter into a well greased 11”x17” sheet pan. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until the cake springs back when lightly touched or a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Remove cake from oven and allow to cool slightly while you make the frosting.
  • Put the butter and milk into a medium saucepan. Heat until butter is melted and bring to a simmer. Remove from heat and stir in the powdered sugar, vanilla and a dash of salt. Whisk until completely smooth. Add nuts (if desired) and spread over cake.

 

DSC_1440

 

(Today’s recipe was taken directly from Eat Cake for Dinner.)

Leave a Reply

