Pink Lemonade Cupcakes

DSC_1652

There will be a day when my blog post is about something other than delicious food, but today is not that day!

I had some fun decorating some extras of these cupcakes I made for the county fair with some of my leftover white chocolate frosting to give to my coworkers for a surprise summer treat.  I absolutely overbooked myself for baked goods and arts at the fair this year.  The woman checking my art at the registration booth last Saturday confirmed that I had entered 11 items: 6 pieces of art and 5 bakes.  But somehow I managed to finish it all!  Here’s evidence of the 5 bakes I did in app. 2 mornings (plus the mint cookies that I took out of the freezer from graduation, but no one needs to know that 😉 )

DSC_1665

I’m not completely clear on how exactly I came around to deciding to make these pink lemonade cupcakes, I mean, I’ve certainly never heard of pink lemonade as a cupcake flavor before, but one day I just thought they’d make a great cupcake and figured they must be on the Internet somewhere.  And for some reason I thought white chocolate frosting would make a great pairing, even though I’ve never had that either.

And guess what?  It worked!

These delectable little cups of sunshine are the perfect summer treat!  I love the sunshiny flavor that comes through from the lemon zest and tangy pink lemonade concentrate.  With the addition of some white chocolate frosting, these cupcakes practically explode with flavor in your mouth.

DSC_1638

I’ve brought these little bits of summer to my group of junior high girls at church and they all raved about them!  My family and coworkers also gave their stamp of approval, so after a year of making them, I figured it was time to enter them into the county fair!

I mean, seriously, just look at them.

DSC_1637

They are SO good.

So go ahead and enjoy your own little lemonade cupcakes 🙂

It just might make your day.

DSC_1657

Pink Lemonade Cupcakes

Cupcakes

2½ cups flour
1 tbsp lemon zest
1½ tsp baking powder
½ tsp baking soda
½ tsp kosher salt
¾ cup butter, softened
2 cups sugar
3 eggs
2 tsp vanilla extract
½ cup pink lemonade concentrate
1 cup buttermilk

White Chocolate Frosting

 

6 ounces white chocolate, melted and slightly cooled (use a white chocolate bar, not chips)

1 cup unsalted butter, softened to room temperature

2 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar

¼ cup heavy cream (can use milk, but it won’t be as rich)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

¼ teaspoon salt

 

DIRECTIONS

For the cupcakes, preheat oven to 350°. Line 27 muffin cups with paper liners and coat with non-stick cooking spray.
In a small bowl, combine flour, lemon zest, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Set aside.

Using an electric mixer, cream butter and sugar on medium speed until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs one at a time. Mix in vanilla and pink lemonade concentrate. On low speed, alternate adding flour mixture and buttermilk to mixer, beginning and ending with the flour. Mix just until combined. Fill prepared muffin cups with ¾ full with batter. Bake 20-22 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. Cool cupcakes completely before frosting

For the frosting: In a medium bowl using a handheld or stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, beat the butter on medium speed for 1 minute. Switch the mixer to low speed and slowly add the confectioners’ sugar. Quickly stir the cooled white chocolate so that it is smooth and add to the butter/sugar mixture. Switch the mixer to medium speed and beat for 2 minutes until combined and creamy. Add the cream, vanilla extract, and salt. Beat for 1 minute until combined. Frost the cupcakes.

 

(The pink lemonade cupcake recipe and instructions are from Bite Me More and the white chocolate frosting recipe and instructions are adapted from Sally’s Baking Addiction.  Photos are property of Lotsoflifeloveandliterature)

Leave a Reply

